ECP releases “uncomplete” final list of contesting candidates

Islamabad Politics Report/Moazzam Raza Tabassam: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) released on Wednesday an uncomplete final list of contesting candidates for the July 25 general election.

The list names contestants of the National Assembly and provincial assemblies from all four provinces from every constituency, home addresses, party symbols and party affiliations.

However, from Punjab, the list has not mentioned contestants from Lahore, Rajanpur and Rahim Yar Khan “due to ongoing court cases”.

The list can be accessed here.

As per data released by ECP, 3,675 candidates are standing for 272 general seats of the National Assembly, while 8,895 candidates are in the contest for 577 general seats of the four provincial assemblies.

The ECP data shows 1,696 candidates will contest from Punjab, 872 from Sindh, 760 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and 303 from Balochistan for the 272 general seats of the National Assembly.

Of the 3,675 candidates in the run for NA seats, 44 are non-Muslims and 172 are women.

Meanwhile, 4,242 candidates, of which 174 are women and 32 are non-Muslims, will fight for 297 general seats of the Punjab Assembly.

For the 130 general seats of the Sindh Assembly, 2,382 candidates, including 91 women and 39 non-Muslims, are taking part in the poll contest.

ECP data further revealed that 1,264 will compete for 99 Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly seats. The number includes 79 women and 20 non-Muslims.

Moreover, 1,007 candidates, including 42 women and 22 non-Muslims, are vying for the 51 general seats of the Balochistan Assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *